Miss Delaware Kayla Martell Has Alopecia Areata

25 Jan

Miss Delaware Kayla Martell competed in the 2011 Miss America Pageant on January 15, 2011. UPI/Miss America Pageant. Photo: Bob Herbert  / The News Journal via AP file


Beauty pageants evoke images of flawless women in amazing shape, perfectly made-up and coifed, right?

Yet one beauty queen vying for the Miss America title in Las Vegas this Saturday night has barely any hair on her head.

Kayla Martell, Miss Delaware, has been bald for half of her 22 years — she has alopecia areata, a rare condition that results in unexplained hair loss. But that’s not stopping her from competing for her lifelong dream.

Martell, who competed in her first pageant when she was 13, has always competed while wearing a wig, though she prefers to go bare in her personal life.

“When I’m home with my family, I’m always without my wig — that’s who I am,” Martell told TODAYshow.com. “If I’m practicing dance or at the gym, I don’t wear it.

“By the time I was 13, my hair was out completely,” she explained. “The thought of getting a wig never crossed my mind at all. My mother first brought up the suggestion and brought home this awful brown wig. I don’t know why, because I’m naturally blond and everyone in my family is blond.

“I wore it to school, but took it off in the middle of the day, put it in my backpack and never looked back.”

However, when she’s on the pageant circuit or making appearances as Miss Delaware, it’s a different story. “As Miss Delaware, I wear it 98 percent of the time. It’s important that people recognize you, so I wear the same hairstyle each time,” she explained. “I don’t want it to be about my hair.” Or lack thereof.

Wearing a wig comes with challenges, like styling it. “I didn’t have hair for half my life; I didn’t have the first idea about how to style hair,” Martell admitted. “My first curling iron was given to me at Christmas.” Read More………..

 

Summary: Many women can admit that we all tend to fall in love with our hair. Making our hair top importance to our daily routine of beauty! Most women and men take pride in their hair. We identify ourselves through our hair.

It’s not until you personally go through losing your hair or thinning out hair that you can absolutely relate to what it’s like to be that person without hair!

Kayla Martell share’s her personal story of living life in the beauty world without hair! It takes a lot of confidence to identify yourself as that person who solely believe in who he or she is without the thought of hair. She finished in the top 10 at the Miss America Pageant January 15th, 2011.

I had my personal life experience where I experienced extensive amount of hair shedding that thinned out the front line of my hair.

Many year’s later and after extensive testing. My hair thinning has slowed down! Stress played a huge roll in my life as well as the lack of vitamins and iron!

We all love our hair after all it’s what shapes us into who we are daily!

We look at it when we get up and we look at it when we goto bed!

No matter what your life experience maybe!  Step into your zone! Love you and be the best you that you can be!

Life may have took your hair but it didn’t take your heart, your passions, and your zest for a great life!

May everyone  have  good health and wellness and happy and healthy living this year!

Sincerely,

Vfare36~

Heaven On Earth Blog

Leave a Reply

