Reality Star: Alexis Bellino Shares Her Battle With Anorexia And Bulimia

13 May

Photo by Astrid Stawiarz/Getty Images

In case you weren’t already convinced by the epic catfights and breakdowns on the “Real Housewives of Orange County,” living in the posh California community doesn’t mean life is perfect.

Cast member Alexis Bellino has revealed she’s still struggling with an eating disorder that first began when she was 12 years old.

“I try not to let my weight consume me, but an eating disorder is a lifetime disease,” she told Life & Style.

The reality star said she “just didn’t want to eat” while watching her parents go through a divorce as she entered her teen years.

“Looking back, I think it was my way of controlling something at a time when everything else in my life was out of my control,” Bellino said.

But it wasn’t until another six years passed that the leggy blond, feeling “so heavy,” began purging.

The bulimia continued through the rise and fall of her first marriage before she began seeking help in 2002.

Three years later, she married Jim Bellino, who “finally got me to stop counting calories,” she said.

“He loves my body,” she told the magazine. “In fact, he says he likes me about 5 pounds heavier.”

Bellino said she now weighs between 118 and 122 pounds, but regularly eats less than 900 calories a day and remains fixated on the scale.

“It’s not like I’m healed,” she explained. “This haunts me.”

And while she believes eating disorders “cannot be cured,” they don’t “have to be practiced.”

“My goal is to reach other women,” Bellino explained, “and let them know that they can conquer it.”

NY Daily News/Newsroom

Leave a Reply

