Maria Shriver Talks About Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Infidelity

17 May

Maria Shriver is breaking her silence about former governor Arnold Schwarzenegger’s infidelity. Earlier today, Huliq reported on Schwarzenegger’s statement about his infidelity with a household staff member a decade ago that resulted in a child. Now Maria Shriver is sharing her feelings about her estranged husband.

In a statement to E!News, 55-year-old Shriver indicated, “This is a painful and heartbreaking time. As a mother, my concern is for the children. I ask for compassion, respect and privacy as my children and I try to rebuild our lives and heal. I will have no further comment.”

Earlier Arnold Schwarzenegger admitted to his cheating with a longtime member of their household staff. He waited until he left the office of governor in January to tell Shriver. She moved out of their Brentwood, Los Angeles home shortly thereafter.

Schwarzenegger said, “I understand and deserve the feelings of anger and disappointment among my friends and family. There are no excuses and I take full responsibility for the hurt I have caused to Maria, my children and my family. I ask that the media respect my wife and children through this extremely difficult time. While I deserve your attention and criticism, my family does not.”

The two parties seem to agree on at least one thing – the family does not deserve to suffer because of Schwarzenegger’s indiscretion. The couple was married for 25 years with four children: Katherine, 21, Christina, 19, Patrick 17, and Christopher, 13.

The staff member’s name has not yet been released. It is known the staff member was married and listed her husband as the father of the child. She worked for the family right up until January of this year.

CBS News reports on Tuesday, Patrick expressed his love for his family and recognized the stress when he tweeted, “ Some days you feel like s—, some days you want to quit and just be normal for a bit, yet i love my family till death do us apart.”

Maria Shriver is the daughter of Sargent and Eunice Kennedy Shriver. She is also the niece of President John F. Kennedy. Shriver met Schwarzenegger in Forest Hills, New York at the Robert F. Kennedy Pro-Celebrity Tennis Tournament. They were married at a Massachusetts church in 1986.A friend of Shriver spoke to the LA Times and said the separation was a long time coming. The anonymous source indicated the death of Eunice Kennedy Shriver in August, 2009 marked a turning point. In January, Sargent Shriver died.

The source stated, “There was such a void and when she looked around, she realized her husband could never even think of filling it.” The friend went on to stay Shriver remained in the marriage for so long because, “Part of it is family legacy, part of it is Catholicism. But the most important thing was their four kids.”

On Monday, the couple said in a joint statement they were living apart “while we work on the future of our relationship.

Celebrity/Newsroom

Summary: The split of Maria Shriver from husband Arnold Schwarzenegger is dominating the entertainment headlines right now. Many folks are now saying after-the-fact that they aren’t surprised but in light of multiple groping allegations against the Gubernator and 25 years of Maria sticking it out I think that’s a little overstated.

Maria did post a cryptic video via her YouTube channel back on March 28th asking her fans how they go about transitioning in life. It does seem to foreshadow the events that are now taking place. Here is the clip followed by the full transcript:

“Like a lot of you I’m in transition and people come up to me all the time going, ‘What are you going to do next? What are you going to do? What will you come up with. Boy I hope you’re getting time to relax and think and take a break.’”

“It is so stressful to not know what you’re going to do next. When people ask you, ‘What are you going to be doing?’ And then they can’t believe that you don’t know what you’re going to be doing and then every idea you have you think, “Maybe I shouldn’t do that.” So I thought to myself I’ll ask you guys”

“How do you think you can really have an impact in 2011 in the world when the world seems to be blowing up? And I’d like to hear from other people who are in transition. How did you find your transition? Personal, professional, emotional, spiritual, financial, how did you get through it? What were the three things that enabled you to get through your transition? After you transitioned what do you wish you would have known? I wrote a book a long time ago “Ten Things I Wish I Would Have Known Before I Went Out In To the Real World.” Tell me some things you wish you would have know before you transitioned. You might be able to help me.”

At first the clip has a straight up, “What do you think?” journalistic vibe but Maria has a very downtrodden countenance and the way she tails off in the end suggesting that the advice could help her is really telling. I’ve always thought the world of Maria and I believe her professional work speaks for itself. She’s a tough cookie and I hope she finds her transition to be one that, in the end, proves to be life affirming and a step forward.

Leave a Reply

